5 Great Songs You’ve Probably Never Heard

1. Mystery Skulls – Money

Money is a great eletronica track on its own, but I just had to show you this specific video. The beat is in perfect sync with the zany inclusion of the Phoenix Wright characters and I love the nods to bands such as Daft Punk.

 

2. DyE – Fantasy

-DISCLAIMER- This video contains disturbing, mature content! Read caption before playing.

Not everyone is going to be able to stomach this one, but even if it is way too graphic for your tastes, I insist you at least listen to it while it plays from the safety of a hidden tab on your browser. The song is absolutely beautiful to me. If you can get passed the gore and violent, sexual imagery, I think they are trying to get across a message through symbolism. Some people believe it represents the fear and anxiety that comes with the passage of becoming a woman, but the ending leaves me feeling as if it is more than that.

 

3. MINMI – Shiki no Uta

I do not know what it is about this song, but I simply can not get enough of it. Most people would only have heard of this track if you were a fan of the anime Samurai Champloo. The soundtrack was a collaboration of Nujabes (Jun Seba) and Fat Jon. Both men are definitely worth looking into if you are a fan of hip hop.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fat_Jon

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nujabes

 

4. Skulk the Hulking – Sucktown USA

Never seen a man with a moustache that big that can rap that well. And I am so glad I have. This group combines old and new styles for an eclectic sound that I have never heard before. It is hard to put a label on this group; their tracks can really vary, and I can not say I am a fan of them all. But Sucktown USA gets me nodding and tapping my foot right off the bat.

http://www.skulkthehulking.com/

 

5. Alice Francis – Shoot Him Down

Such a fun song. I love the kind of 1920s vibe she seeks to emulate.

 

I hope you got to enjoy something you never listened to before. If you want to see more, or even if you would like to see me compile a list of something else, feel free to drop me a line. You can always reach me through the blog or by email: AphoticAtrocitiesInc@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

